Low Roar - 0 (CD)

$7.99 $29.90

Biography Low Roar's dreamy folk finds beauty in the somber side of life. Formerly the frontman of Oakland, California alt-rockers Audrye Sessions, Ryan Joseph Karazija began Low Roar as a response to the change and loneliness he felt in the wake of moving to Reykjavík, Iceland. He chronicled the challenges of acclimating to a foreign land, finding work, and supporting his family by writing a song each day, the results of which appeared in November 2011 on Low Roar's self-titled debut record.

0 is the second album he’s made since moving to Iceland and it’s as sweeping and lush an album as he could ever have hoped to create in such beautiful surroundings. Karazija is happy to embrace the epic and not worry about song lengths, letting a number of tracks spin out beyond five minutes…and when he’s in possession of a killer falsetto and knows his way around orchestration so brilliantly it’s certainly not something to grumble about. So we have the expansive ‘Easy Way Out’ which plays around with electronic as strings sweep beautifully, the touching organ wheeze of ‘Half Asleep’ that develops into Radiohead circa OK Computer and the two-part ambient buzz of ‘Please Don’t Stop’ which closes 0 off beautifully. It’s a perfectly-paced album, atmospheric and often deeply affecting.


1 Breathe In Low Roar 7:34
2 Easy Way Out 4:48
3 Nobody Loves Me Like You 5:55
4 I'll Keep Coming 5:52
5 Half Asleep 7:16
6 Please Don't Stop (Chapter 1) 4:40
7 I'm Leaving  5:34
8 In the Morning 1:24
9 Phantoms 6:03
10 Anything You Need 3:13
11 Dreamer 5:09
12 Vampire on My Fridge  6:30
13 Please Don't Stop (Chapter 2)  4:03


You may also like

Recently viewed